top of page

Speak Up & Speak Out

I was reading Fahrenheit 451 yesterday when I came across a paragraph that really moved me. This is what it said - "I saw the way things were going, a long time back. I said nothing. I'm one of the innocents who could have spoken up and out when no one would listen to the "guilty", but I did not speak and thus became guilty myself. And when finally they set the structure to burn the books, I grunted a few times and subsided, for there were no others grunting or yelling with me, by then. Now, it's too late."


Over the last couple of years I've heard a lot about those of us with privilege needing to speak up for those who don't share that same privilege. It may be matter of gender, race, religion, financial status etc. Even though I completely agree with it, I've always felt a little uncomfortable with it because I've never been one to speak up a lot about the injustices that happen in the world. Sometimes when something really bothers me I speak out but that's about it. I used to think that it was because I'm a shy person. Now I think it may be because I want to avoid conflict in general. There's a lot of injustices that happen in this world that anger me on a daily basis and choosing what to stand up for and not become an "angry person" has been a real challenge for me. I struggle with this guilt always that I am not using my privilege to make this world a better place. When I die would I be known as a person who stood up against the injustices of this world or would I be known as one who never got into conflicts?


bottom of page