top of page

Spoiler free review of The Secret Garden


Gosh it seems so long since I’ve written a review! I’ve had so many instances where I’ve wanted to share about the books I’ve read but have been too lazy to write. Here’s me getting back to writing reviews again. This is a spoiler free review for all those of you who want to read this book but don’t want it spoiled for you either.

The Secret Garden is one of those books that often makes it to lists of “must-read” books and I’d heard many people recommend it on Goodreads as well. Strangely I hadn't noticed it in bookstores so never ended up buying it. As luck would have it, last month I accompanied my sister to the Delhi Book Fair as a part of her course activity and I came across this book in one of the second hand stores there. The best part was that it was lying in one of the back shelves and was well out of view of most people who glance through the books in front. The book was in amazing shape and after I bit of bargaining I got at an awesome price of Rs. 100.

This book is mainly classified as a “children’s book” and has been popular with generations past. Reading a children’s book has never been a problem for me because there’s something very delightful about them. They’re rarely dark and always have some sort of message or moral to go along with them. Not sure why, but this book wasn’t even mentioned in our school curriculum. It may have something to do with the depiction of Indians in it but I won’t go into too much detail about that. You have to read it to believe it. Just know that this book was first published in 1911 and was written by a British lady. At that time India was under British rule and Indians weren’t looked upon very favourably back then.

The Secret Garden is essentially a book about 3 children – Mary, Dickon and Collin. Without giving too much of the story away – the book follows the adventures of Mary as she moves to Scotland from India and discovers a secret “magical” garden in the home she lives in. It is a story where the kids discover what it means to be children and in turn teach the adults too about the joys of nature and the world around us. It is book that reminded me of the power of positive thinking and of the beauty of nature around us. Magic is not about waving wands and making things fly. Magic is about the power that lies within each of us to bring about positive change to the world around us.

I know this is a children’s book but I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a light read. Don’t expect fabulous literature or an amazing story-line either. Enjoy it simply for the innocence it brings.

MetroReader Rating: 3.5/5

bottom of page