top of page

The Metro Reader’s long break from writing


It feels great to be back!! I think it must be over a year now since I put up a post and after such a long break it does feel good to be back to writing. As I write this I am taken back to the initial days of this blog when I used to be super excited to share with the world regarding the stuff I was reading. That excitement never died down but never really translated into writing.

I feel it is my duty to give an explanation to the followers of this blog as to my whereabouts and my long absence from writing. The past year and a half has been a challenging one for me reading-wise because I felt like I had a million things to do (mostly excuses). With work, wedding prep, church activities and stuff at home, I wasn’t left with a lot of time to read. The biggest factor though was the fact that I was no longer travelling in the metro regularly. The absence of an active manager at work meant that I could work from home on most days and hence cut down on my tiring travel. With a new job that’s 1.5 hours away from home (by metro), it meant that I was back to my old travelling ways and it felt like the most appropriate time to start actively reading again.

Although I wasn’t travelling by metro a lot, I still wanted to ensure that I never stopped reading. That’s one habit you never want to get rid of. At the same time I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself by setting unrealistic reading targets. I’m a very goal oriented person so setting goals for myself is the best way to keep myself motivated towards an objective. With that in mind I reduced my yearly Goodreads challenge target down from 38 (the number I achieved last year) to 10 for this year. I knew this would be a busy year with my wedding and new responsibilities to take care of. As I write this post, I’m happy to inform that I’ve hit my target of 10 books for the year and it was done well in time as well. With another 3 months to go in the year I hope to complete at least 3 more books.

And thus ends my very first post after my long hiatus. I hope to keep writing more. I like reading waaaay more than I like writing so sometimes it becomes a challenge to stop being lazy and write something. I just finished reading the “Secret Garden” and it was a fabulous book. Review shall be up soon! Happy reading to all!

bottom of page