top of page

To Kindle or not to Kindle

I was recently gifted a Kindle on my birthday and I’ve put off trying it out because well I’m the old school kind who prefers holding a book rather than holding a device. Our world is becoming a place where we are becoming ever dependent on our devices. We rely on devices for most activities that we do these days whether it be listening to music, exercising or watching movies. Reading books for a long time did remain an activity that was done mainly without using a device simply because it’s easier to read physical books. So eventually after being guilt tripped into using it, I finally read a book on the Kindle. The experience I would say was not bad at all. So I’ve prepared a list of pros and cons for people like me who are worried about the “experience” of reading on a Kindle.

Pros

  1. Cost of books – One of my reader friends told me that reading is increasingly becoming an expensive hobby. On an average a book would cost you about Rs. 300 and if you finish a book a week you could end up spending as much as 1200 per month on books. Using e-books you could save as much as half that amount. OR you could be like me and make it clear to all your friends that you like reading and make them gift you books. Last birthday I think I got about 12-15 books which basically ensured that I didn’t need to buy anything for a long long time. With Christmas round the corner there’s hope that I’ll get more.

  2. Ease of transport - Books can sometimes get very bulky and if you’re a person like me who likes to read while travelling, it can be a very important factor. Try lugging around something like ‘I am Pilgrim’(900 pages) or ‘Suitable Boy’ by Vikram Seth (1000+ pages long) and you’ll know what I’m talking about.

  3. Dictionary Option – This was an exciting feature that I randomly came across. If ever you don’t know the meaning of any word, you just need to highlight that word on the Kindle and it will give you the meaning. This definitely beats having to take out your phone and keying the word in the dictionary.

  4. Ease of reading – All said and done, the Kindle is a pretty amazing device to read on. There’s no glare, it looks like a book (paperwhite) and is easy to store loads of books on it.

Cons

  1. It is not a book - At the end of the day nothing beats reading a physical book. I don’t quite know how to explain this but there’s just something about holding a book that feels magical.

  2. Missing sense of achievement – Whenever I read a book I always try and ensure that I read at least 40-50 pages in one sitting but the damn Kindle doesn’t show you the page number only! To find the page number you need to go through several steps. Also, when you finish reading a book you like to sit back and admire the fact (at least I do) that you’ve finished that book. You like to look at all the books lined up on your shelf and give yourself a pat on the back. Every book reader would just love to have a huge library. With a Kindle you can’t do that.

  3. Missing conversation starter – When I travel on the metro I often face situations where people crane their necks to see which book I’m reading. People are ALWAYS curious. People have started conversations with me when they see me reading as well. With a Kindle people assume that you’re just another person who’s probably watching something on their device.

At the end of the day I must admit that the Kindle is a great device for people who love to read. It definitely has more pros than cons but what can you do, the heart wants what the heart wants. I will surely be reading more books on the Kindle (especially the free classics) but a physical book will always hold the dearest place in my heart.

bottom of page