top of page

A murder most foul! My Review of Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express


Of late I’ve got the chance to read books by one great author after another. Agatha Christie was the latest on my list. Most people, whether they’re avid readers or not, have usually heard of Agatha Christie. Her Poirot series is among the best and most well-known mystery series of all time. I used to read a lot of mystery novels when I was a kid, right from the Enid Blyton mysteries to Sherlock Holmes to Alfred Hitchcock but it surprises me now that I never ended up picking up an Agatha Christie book. Better late than never I would say.

The Murder on the Orient Express follows world famous detective as he travels on the Orient Express on his way back to London. Long story short, there’s a murder in a room which was locked from the inside and there are only a handful of suspects. Let the fun and games begin! Agatha Christie knows how to keep things simple and at the same time create the suspense that comes along with a mystery. The story is split into three parts: The Crime, The Evidence and The Conclusion. Well organized and no unnecessary fanciness. Clear cut and to the point! The reader is put in an environment where he/she is made to feel like he/she is part of the investigation. Readers are given just as much of a chance to solve parts of the mystery themselves. Unlike a lot of the modern mysteries I’ve read recently like “Girl on the Train”(still brilliant in their own right), the best part about Murder on the Orient Express is that it’s so old school. People who love old school mysteries like the Sherlock Holmes series are sure to love this book as well.

And well what can I say about the ending? Agatha Christie gives definition to the phrase “plot twist”! That was one ending that I didn’t see coming for a mile. That for me added to the charm of the book as well. To sum up: great writing, brilliant plot and an even better ending. If all of Agatha Christie’s books are like this then I’ll certainly be coming back for more. Schools should most certainly encourage their students to read works by Agatha Christie along with all the usual favourites like Sherlock Holmes etc.

My Rating: 3.5/5

bottom of page