top of page

Review: The Catcher in the Rye


So I'm going to attempt to write this review in the same style as the narration in the book. Well for starters, this book really killed me. It really did. After having read a whole bunch of books that were basically just phonies, this book was surprisingly ok. Don't get me wrong though, I didn't enjoy it all that much but it kept me interested enough. The narrator is this wise guy called Holden who basically complains about everything right through the book. I mean I just don't get what his problem was! Damn phoney! I bet the author just adopted that form of a narrative in order to sell more books. That's what really bugs me though, why do people have to pretend all the time! Sheesh! That's about as much as I could write in the same style as the book so I'm going to switch back now. There's a line in the book that goes as follows "What really knocks me out is a book that when you're all done reading it, you wish that the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up whenever you felt like it". This really was a nice book and I'm sure that I would love to be friends with this author simply because I think he would truly be able to understand and relate to the angst that a teenager goes through. The book beautifully captures the emotions that I myself went through as a teenager and probably am even going through now. Holden (the main character in this book) keeps finding it hard to find meaning to most things in life and is quite bothered with just about every single thing. I wish I had read this book when I was a little younger because I'm a 100% sure that I would have enjoyed it more. Now as I'm in my mid 20's a lot of the complaining got bugging sometimes (very very rarely though). I would recommend that everyone in their teens should most certainly read this book... those who are older would definitely enjoy this as well.

My Rating: 3/5

bottom of page