top of page

Review: Midnight's Children


I love a good story.... short story, long story, doesn't matter to me much but a story that keeps me engaged right through is what I love. I always imagine myself as a child once again, listening with rapt attention to the stories that my parents told me. Salman Rushdie's Midnight's children is one such book that has a beautiful story. The book isn't a thriller, it isn't fast paced, there isn't really any aspect of suspense or mystery to it.... It is simply a story, a story of Saleem Sinai, who was born on the 15th of August 1947, the day of India's Independence. Salman Rushdie does a brilliant job of intertwining the fate of Saleem along with the history of India after it's independence. The story spans nearly four generations, starting from Saleem's grandfather, right up to his son. Rushdie's unhurried narrative style takes the reader along at a beautiful pace. I did take a while to finish this book though because there a portions where it does tend to get a little slow but I would urge everyone who hasn't read this book to press on because what you're left with at the end is a nice and warm feeling. A must read for all!

My Rating: 3.5/5

bottom of page