top of page

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?


Edward Albee's Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf is an extremely gripping and fast paced play. The story is about two couples and a night full of games that they play. The story gives an insight into some of the incredibly dysfunctional relationships that exist between couples. Albee's style of writing keeps the reader engaged right till the very end and leaves him/her wanting more. One of the first things I did after reading this book was to run to my sister's room (Literature major and the one who recommended this book) to discuss what I'd just read. That's the type of feeling that this book can evoke. There a plenty that the reader can ponder over once he/she's read the book. The only reason I'm not giving this play 4 stars is because it got over too fast and a story in the classical sense was lacking for me. While I loved reading the play, I don't think it is one that will stay with me over the years. I still recommend that everyone give it shot. You will not regret it!

My Rating: 3.5/5

bottom of page