top of page

Review: Disappointment with God


I was initially a little skeptical about reading this book since I wasn't very sure if I would like Christian literature having read only one such book from the same genre (The Measure of a Man by Gene Getz) but I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Yancey tackles three questions that many Christians (including myself) very often ask. 1) Is God unfair? 2) Is he silent? 3) Is he hidden? In the first part of the book, Yancey explores various parts of the Old Testament and nicely sums it up with the birth and death of Christ in the the New Testament. His insight on commonly read portions of the Bible were really thought provoking and made me see those stories in a different light. Although the 2nd half of the first part gets slightly repetitive, it still did manage to hold my interest. The second half of the book mainly focuses on the story of Job from the Bible. Since I had only heard portions of that story before, this detailed analysis really was quite helpful in understanding certain portions that have left me confused before. Overall the book is an interesting read even though it does get boring and repetitive at parts. My initial impression of the book was that it would deal with a depressing topic but I was pleasantly surprised with the encouraging tone of the book. I would recommend this book as a must read for anyone who has ever asked any of these 3 questions.

My Rating: 3.5/5

bottom of page